God-Given Gifts

I cannot draw for the life of me. And trust me, I’ve tried. In seventh grade I took art class as a required elective. Every day when I had an art assignment to do, I spent about four hours crying my eyes out, furiously erasing, and settling for what I deemed failure. In short- I’m not an artist.

But there are other things I can do. People say I’m quite gifted at the piano; I’ve been playing for nine years. In fact, music seems to be my forte (pardon the pun). I just started the violin about a month ago, but I have a real ear for music and my fingers are very dexterous, and so it comes very easily to me.

I don’t want to seem like I’m showing off or bragging. But I do think it’s important that we all come to terms with the gifts and talents God has, and hasn’t, given us. Gifts come in all forms. Some of them are the gift of art, or music. Others are more along the lines of sympathy, or problem-solving, or coming up with ideas. The point is, God has given us all gifts. 

And He wants us to USE those gifts for His glory! To be perfectly honest, it took me a while to get this concept into my head. I spent so much time dwelling on the things I couldn’t do, and asking God why He didn’t give me the ability to do those things. As I just mentioned, I can’t draw. I’m certainly not very athletic. My singing voice is only so-so, etc. Because I focused on what I wasn’t able to do, I worried an excessive amount about what God’s plan for my life would be. Yes, I’m one of those teenagers who has been researching colleges since the sixth grade (no joke). I prayed and prayed, asking God to reveal something about where He was taking my life.

And He did. He caused my love for music to grow even more. He really put music in my heart. The happiest place I can be is sitting at my grand, playing Chopin. I want to be a piano teacher when I grow up, to borrow the expression. And from the signals I’ve been getting, I think that’s what God has in mind, too.

I want to encourage you to evaluate the gifts that God has given you, especially if you’re a teenager like me, who has no idea what they’re doing with their life. If you really can’t think of any, ask someone. Really. And pray about it. If you really listen, God will reveal to you, through methods you might not be expecting, where He wants you.

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies- in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To Him belongs glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” – 1 Peter 4:10-11

Leave a Reply

