Take the Lead

About this time last year, I started questioning my school situation. I was going to a very small, private, two day a week school, and it was my third year. In the first two years I had some amazing friends, and while I still had two good friends remaining in the third year, they were drifting. My point is, that everything I had loved so much about the school when I started going there was gone. I realized that it might be time to move on.

There was a homeschool group that was based much closer to where I lived that some people from my church were a part of. My parents and I thought that might be a good fit- although they were worried that I might find myself lonelier than I already was. I would only be taking one class, once a week, and was going to have a lot of extra time at home.

I thought about it a lot. And I do mean A LOT. I absolutely hate making decisions, especially big ones like this. In the end, I felt that God was leading me away from my current school and towards the new one. So I decided to follow that. 

At first, I thought I had heard wrong. I thought that maybe God had been trying to tell me to STAY and not go to the new school. I didn’t know anyone in my chemistry class and I wasn’t able to participate in the really fun school events because I had knee surgery.

But then God started showing me that He had once again brought me to be exactly where He wanted me. I met two girls in my grade who didn’t really have any friends either, and I think we were each others’ answer to prayer. And I started becoming friends with the people in my chemistry class as well. It’s almost all guys, and well, to be honest, as a teenage girl, I don’t really have a problem with that.

My fears of making the wrong decision have been quickly dissolving, and once again I’ve realized that God does indeed know what He’s doing. And I can trust Him to help me make the right decisions, in every area of my life.

“The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” – Proverbs 16:9

Leave a Reply

