The Gift of Perseverance

First of all, I would like to apologize for my apparent disappearance off the internet. Things have been a little… up and down in life lately. But then again, isn’t that technically what my blog is about? Anyways, with the Christmas season just ending and the New Year approaching, this is the time of year when everyone looks back on what they’ve been doing for the past twelve months- how they’ve grown, how they’ve changed, etc.

I think that I’ve grown in a very obvious way this year, and it definitely wasn’t of my own accord. As you may have heard from previous entries, I underwent knee surgery this year in late September. Recovering from that surgery has, without a doubt, been the most difficult thing that I’ve ever had to do. 

And I probably would have given up a long time ago if it hadn’t been for the strength that came from the Holy Spirit alone. There hasn’t been a session of physical therapy where I haven’t complained and protested on the way there and cried of defeat and pain on the way home. But I’m not here to throw myself a pity party.

Strength and perseverance really do come from God when we ask Him for them. As Christians, the Holy Spirit resides inside of us, giving us the tools we need to navigate through life and its many difficulties. In my case, the Holy Spirit equipped me this year with the perseverance to keep on going through physical therapy.

So I want to encourage you, in the last days of 2016, to look at how God has equipped you with ‘life tools,’ you needed this year. And I also want to encourage you to pray that He will continue to help you and guide you in 2017. Trust me, I will be doing the same.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” – Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

