Those I Lost Along the Way

We’re in a new year now. This is the time when farmers’ markets are visited and gym memberships are bought. Everyone is frantically trying to get a good start on their resolutions. Everyone has a vision of what they want their year to look like, and who they want to be when it comes to a close.

While looking ahead to the future is certainly important, I think the beginning of a new year is also a time to look at how you’ve come to be where you already are. The experiences that we go through and the people that we encounter throughout our lives have a huge part to play in shaping us. I know that’s true for me.

I’ve lost a lot of people that I was once very close to. We’ve moved on and gone off in different directions. But in a way, I haven’t really lost those people, because a part of them is always with me. 

There was my kindergarten best friend Giovanna, my fifth grade best friend Spencer, my junior high best friend Lena… the list goes on and on. Even though I only knew these people when we were just kids, they’ve all helped me to become who I am today. They’ve shown me how to be a kinder and more caring person. I’m grateful for social media in the aspect that I can see how God is working in their lives and where He is taking them.

Who are some people that have helped to shape you into the person you are today? As we go into this new year, let’s try not only to look to where we’re going, but also to where we came from. And if we can, let’s thank those people who helped us along the way.

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:11

 

Leave a Reply

