Finding Time

I have to say, 2017 is beginning to seem a bit daunting. And we’re barely a week in. The end of the previous year for my family was completely full and busy, and I was really looking forward to having some time to just get my stuff together for the new year. Well, I haven’t exactly had that opportunity yet. It seems like everything is rushed and most of my time is being spent focusing on what I need to do next week or next month, rather than in this moment.

Between schoolwork, classes, physical therapy, doctor’s appointments and music lessons (and studying for my permit test of course), I’ve been struggling to take time for myself to relax and reset. But it’s not my everyday schedule that makes the new year seem overwhelming. It’s what’s coming. 

In a couple of weeks my eldest sister is having a baby. She lives in Pennsylvania, so obviously my parents and I will be going out there. But we’ll all be flying out at different times due to our varying schedules. Fortunately, my dad is an airline pilot so it isn’t difficult to hop on a plane the day after we decide to go. And as you all know, a baby doesn’t exactly follow a schedule. So we don’t really know how that’s going to play out. I’ll be honest: I hate not knowing.

After I’m in Pennsylvania, I’m going straight to London with my other sister for a week. But first, I’ll likely be flying home to go to my chemistry class, and then flying back to Pennsylvania for a day and then flying to London. When I get back from London, I have auditions for Beauty and the Beast with my theatre company (my orthopedist just cleared me to audition- yay!). And by then it will be nearly the end of February.

My point is, I can’t seem to find the time to do anything. But I’ve been thinking about it, and I think I’ve come up with a few ideas. So, here are my tips for ‘finding time’ in 2017:

  1. Try to focus on the present moment. Yes, it’s good to think ahead. But if you’re always thinking ahead, you’ll miss what’s going on right now. Take things one step at a time.
  2. Think about your priorities. What needs to be done first? What’s going to take the longest? What things on the to-do list are long term rather than short term?
  3. If you can’t find any time during the day, take a few minutes for yourself at night before you go to bed. Drink some tea, maybe write a few sentences in a journal (it’s proven to be therapeutic and I live by it!). Just clear your head as best you can because chances are, it will get filled right back up the next day.
  4. Last and most importantly, make time for God. No matter how crazy your day has been, no matter how stressed you are about everything that’s going on- I think this is the key. I think God honors using some of our very precious time for Him to read our Bibles and pray. And it doesn’t matter when- when you wake up, before you go to sleep, or even just in the few minutes between tasks. Taking the time for God will help to put everything else in place. I really do believe that.

And so, my friends, I wish you all (and myself, for that matter) the best of luck in finding the time for everything we’ve got to do this year.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” – Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

