A Comparison Rant

Sometimes I compare myself. Isn’t that something we all struggle with at some point in our lives? Well, I’m in high school- that’s pretty much the epitome of teenage comparison syndrome (yeah, I made that up). I have this friend, I’m not going to name her, but she’s kind of perfect. I know she’s not, but it sure seems that way. She’s absolutely gorgeous, she gets the best grades, and she’s in a super amazing relationship. It’s almost as if I can’t help but to compare myself to her.

I don’t think I’m exactly jealous of her, I just wonder why I can’t be like her. I wonder why God didn’t make me more like her. Prettier, taller, funnier, smarter, the list could go on. I often find myself asking God why He made me like me, when He could have made me like her. 

But I realized that this is wrong for so many reasons. Not only did God make me exactly as He made me for a reason, it’s an insult to Him to act as if I know better than He does how I should have been made. It’s an insult to His perfect design, and to His omniscience.

But, acknowledging that comparing myself to others is bad doesn’t fix the problem. I still do it. I’ll be honest- it’s really, really difficult not to. And I don’t think it’s the type of problem that can be fixed overnight either; it’s more of a slow process. But I think that a good first step is reminding myself that I am made in God’s image, and made exactly how He wanted me to be.

I want to encourage anyone else struggling with this to remind themselves of these truths as well. I know this post was a little more rant-y than my others, but this is what God put on my heart today to write about, so I hope you enjoyed it!

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” – Psalm 139:13-14

Leave a Reply

