Shut-Down Mode

Sometimes I wish I could shut down for a bit. Not sleep for a long time or chill out on the couch for a few hours, but shut down. Just stop. (If at this point you’re wondering what the difference is between sleeping and shutting down, I’ll just say that there is one but I have no idea how to explain it.) These times when I want to shut down usually occur when I’m really exhausted- a reasonable cause and effect. 

This particular time, I’ve just flown back from London and it has been quite a crazy day. Unfortunately I’m not at my own house yet- I’m at my sister’s for a bit and then going home. This adds to the feeling of exhaustion and of being generally overwhelmed. (At this point I’ll apologize if this post makes no sense; I’ve been awake for a very long time now and my brain is sort of a mess). 

I think this is a pretty ordinary thing- the need to shut down temporarily. Maybe we need signs to stick on our foreheads: TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES. PLEASE WAIT.
Fortunately, there is an excellent and easily accessible way to get the rejuvenation required for a system reboot. That way is through God. I think that taking time to rest in Him is the key. And that can come in a lot of different forms. Reading the Bible and praying are two of the more obvious ones. But even things like telling God about your day and what made it so crazy can, surprisingly, have quite the positive effect.

So I encourage you, the next time you’re ready to shut down, to take a few moments and rest in the peace that God provides. Also maybe take a nap. Naps work wonders.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a Reply

