Firm Foundations

“My identity is found in Christ, not in this world.” I’ve often said these words to myself, whether they were out loud or just in my head being dependent on the situation. They’re just words- I could tell myself anything, such as, “I’m beautiful just the way I am,” or “I am unique and loved.” But I’ve chosen these specific words for a specific reason, one that I’d like to share.

I’ve always had some self-esteem issues. I used to tell myself things such as the two examples I mentioned above, but I saw no change. They really were just words, and they didn’t have any effect on me. And it was then that I realized I was looking for affirmation in all the wrong places. 

I was trying so, so hard to place my self-worth in what I looked like, or the things I was talented at. But I quickly realized that I fall short in everything that our society deems important. I was building my foundations in the things of this world. The problem is, the standards in our culture are always changing, and the ‘things of this world’ will pass away. Everyone grows old and loses the beauty they may have once valued so much. Everyone grows old and becomes unable to do the activities which they prided themselves in.

But God never grows old. God never changes, and neither do His standards. If I, if we, place our foundation and identity in Christ- in the hope of His promises and the sacrifice of His son for us- things will fall together, rather than fall apart.

So when we feel as if we’re not good enough for this world’s standards, let’s do our best to remember that God values us highly, enough to send His son to die for us, and that our true identity is found in Him. We are nothing alone, but we are everything in Christ. Even if nobody else sees it.

But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.” – Philippians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

