Appreciation

No, I actually haven’t completely disappeared off the face of the planet. Just temporarily. Hopefully I’m back to a more regular schedule now. In the past four months I’ve been on six trips, two of them to Europe, and I haven’t been at my house with my laptop very much. Also, finals. Anyways, the last trip I went on was to New York, where my parents and I stayed in a really tiny flat in Brooklyn. And I learned something in the two nights that we stayed there. Appreciation. 

This was not a nice flat by any stretch of the imagination. The building was ancient (for New York, I mean), which would have been cool, if it had been a nice building. It was not well taken care of, and the guy we rented the flat from had clearly made it out to be a lot better than it actually was. My parents and I felt uncomfortable (and also slightly unsafe).

However, we noted that all of the surrounding buildings looked almost identical to the one we were staying in. We quickly learned to appreciate how so many people live, and to appreciate all that we have.

It’s really, really easy to get a little too used to what we have (especially in SoCal where I live). I’m especially guilty of this, and it was really eye-opening. I think we probably all have moments where we forget how truly blessed we are. God provides for our needs, and that’s really important not to forget.

So I encourage you to take a look at all the things that God has given you, and to thank Him for them. I’m definitely going to be doing that more from now on.

Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin,  yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” – Matthew 6:28-30

Leave a Reply

