Amidst the Mayhem

June is production month. I’m talking about theatre, of course. June is when I drive an hour to the theatre every single day to either have a rehearsal, work the other cast’s rehearsal, have a show, or work a show. Every single day. Except Sundays. It’s kind of insane; fortunately I’m already out of school or else I might drop dead.

Unfortunately, I got a really terrible cold several days ago. First I got a fever (while I was working backstage) and while I suspected it, I didn’t know for sure until I got home. I then broke the fever in ten minutes by trying to sleep under like five blankets. The next day I felt fine, but the day after that I completely lost my voice. I couldn’t say a word. I communicated through sign language and in one specific case, lip reading (there’s an incredibly talented lip reader on my set crew). The day after that the rest of the cold hit me, and it was pretty horrible. And amidst all this I was still going to all my rehearsals. 

When I knew I had a fever, my first reaction was to freak out and cry just a little bit. Getting sick is the absolute worst thing that can happen to you during production month, except maybe getting hit by a bus or something. This was again the case when I woke up without a voice- panic. But instead of giving in to the panic attacks I really wanted to have, I chose a different path, after having to calm myself down of course.

I just gave it to God. Too many times in the past have I let the worry and the mayhem and the busy schedules overtake me. Too many times have I given in, and because of it, not fully enjoyed the moment and taken time to be present. So this time I told myself that I couldn’t let that happen. I just prayed, and asked God to take away my cold, and trusted Him that no matter how He chose to dealt with the matter, that things would be all right.

I’m not totally over my cold yet and my voice is still yet to be fully returned, but I know I made the right decision. Had I been worrying about how few hours of sleep I was going to get and how I would manage not being able to sing for our final dress rehearsal, I probably would have gotten more sick, and I would have missed out on some truly amazing moments.

So I encourage you, no matter what insane challenges are happening in your life, and no matter how impossible they seem to navigate, give them to God. Trust Him.

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” – Isaiah 41:10

Leave a Reply

